Beware of Spammers, Scammers, and Malicious Links on Pinterest

by Heather on April 26, 2012

I know we’ve been a little quiet here at SpinPicks, but that doesn’t mean nothing is happening. Paul and I have been in head down work / travel mode. Good things are coming! Also? Jet lag and red eye flights are evil.

In the meantime, I want to warn all of you about the existence of malicious pins. Here at SpinPicks we do our best to filter out bad pins / feeds the moment they come to our attention, but as with any platform, there’s always the chance of something slipping under the radar.

Today, while making sure everything was working (I wasn’t playing with the app, honest!) I clicked to view the source of a pin, instead of going to the site it should, I was redirected to pintrerets.com which gave a dialogue box prompting me to download a “Pinterest Tool”.

If I hadn’t been paying close attention or simply skimming, I might not have noticed the misspelling of Pinterest.

Be careful out there. We’re doing our best to ensure you have a safe, fun, and serendipitous experience. If you ever find anything like this, please shoot an email to Tech @ SpinPicks . com and we’ll be sure to add it to our filters.

In the meantime, spin on!

Post comment as twitter logo facebook logo
Sort: Newest | Oldest
CBS Bank 20 pts

This is really my very first time here, great looking website. I discovered so many austin brain injury attorney interesting things inside your website.

I also have had two (that I know of) food pictures from my blog used this way.  It was done exactly as Michael describes in his comment, but with two different empty blogs.  Since they are my pictures, and the Pinterest source shows as one of the empty blogs, I filled out the DMCA complaint form on Pinterest.  I also reported the "pins" and reported the two blogs to blogger.  Hopefully this scam will be shut down soon.    

Also--it appears that sometimes the pinned pictures are at times redirecting to the websites where the pictures are from, not the phishing/scam site.  So even if people pinning check the pin, it may or may not appear as a scam, depending on how the link is being directed.   

Hi All,

 

I’m the admin for a food blog and I noticed we were getting referral traffic from a blog called “essentialrecipe” and when you trace the link it takes you to a site called “pintrerets” with a popup, which has the actual Pinterest logo, telling the visitor to download the Pinterest Tool.

 

I did a little investigating and found this user profile on Blogger:

 

http://www.blogger.com/profile/00950486850076205198

 

Notice how there’s a list of blogs there that lead to empty pages

.

Perhaps there’s a way to stop this person by reporting to Blogger?

 

I went to the following link at Blogger to report the abuse:

 

http://support.google.com/blogger/bin/request.py?hl=en&contact_type=main_tos

 

Hope that helps!

 

Reverie Cakes 5 pts

This is really a growing issue, you would think Pinterest would just on this and fix this immediately.

I've been telling Pinterest about this for weeks in every conceivable message and form of complaint. It's regrettable that they are overlooking this. It's easy enough to block this malicious site clearly infringing on their trademarks...who the hell knows what's being downloaded, but Pinterest is making it easy for them.

irka 5 pts

Hi I was just googling 

 

http://pintrerets.com 

 

because of exactly the issue you're talking about, and came upon this article.  

 

I always check sources before i repin, because i often pin recipes and i want to know if they are actually good, so i can use them in the future. 

 

Just to give you guys any FYI on the food board all pins "the-dailyrecipe.blogspot.com" redirect to pintrerets.com, either the download now, OR the you've won a gift card screen.  If you type in the blogstop directly in your address bar, it comes up with an empty blog owned by someone claiming to be IT security. 

 

Thinking something was wrong with my google chrome, i clicked download not noticing that pintrest was spelled incorrectly,when i continued it redirected me to my pinterest landing page. I now need to debug my pv (hurrah.) 

 

check this article out from a food blooger:http://runningoncloudnine.com/2012/04/11/pinterest-scam-aimed-at-foodies/ 

HeatherSolos 77 pts moderator

 irka did you see the comment just prior to yours? Please go through and change all of your passwords as soon as possible/?

irka 5 pts

Just saw it now, but yes i've changed my passwords and uninstalled and reinstalled chrome. Luckily chrome did not install it as a plug in. It seemed to recognise that something was wrong, but i cleaned my computer anyhow just in case. Thanks :) HeatherSolos

potherca 5 pts

My wife was unlucky enough to *not* be paying that much attention... the “Pinterest Tool” you mentioned was installed as a plugin in the browser.

 

I looked into the source code and what it did was send *every* page that was opened to a remote server.

Needless to say she changed all her passwords on all her accounts right after I removed the plugin and luckily no creditcard information had been entered into the browser in those few days it ran, but just imagine the damage that could do!

HeatherSolos 77 pts moderator

 potherca ouch, thanks for letting me know exactly what it was. I sincerely hope you were able to get everything locked back down in time.

annelizhannan 183 pts

PinPricks! Yes, that is a double entendre.

HeatherSolos 77 pts moderator

 annelizhannan *snort* I see what you did there. ;)

Previous post:

Next post: